Sunday , April 2 2023

Tribunal grants PDP, Ize-Iyamu order to inspect election materials

Spread the love

The Edo State election petitions tribunal in Benin City has granted a motion exparte to the Peoples Democratic Party and its candidate, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu, to inspect all materials used in the conduct of the September 28 governorship election in the state.

The three-man panel of judges, led by Justice A. T . Badamasi, granted the PDP and its candidate the motion to inspect the electoral materials on Tuesday.

Other members of the panel are Justice E. A. Adesodun and Justice Khadi Usman.

Counsel for the PDP, Kingsley Obamogie, explained that the application to assess the materials was in line with Section 151 of the Electoral Act, 2010, as amended.

Obamogie also noted that the section empowered the party to institute a motion exparte to pray the tribunal to inspect all the electoral materials used for the September 28 poll.

His words, “In compliance with the section 151 of the Electoral Act of 2010 as amended, we have approached and pray the court to grant us the permission to inspect all the Electoral, materials used by INEC in the just concluded Edo State Governorship Election”.

After studying the motion, the judges, ordered INEC to make AVAILABLE   all the electoral materials used for the poll.

It was gathered that the tribunal had yet to receive any petition from any of the aggrieved political parties and their respective candidates.

It was, however, learnt that the affected parties and candidates had 21 days within which to file their petitions, from the date the election was held.

Officials of the tribunal would only be inaugurated only when petitions have been filed by aggrieved parties and candidates that participated in the governorship election.

Their presence was to forestall any unforeseen circumstance within the court.

About Charles Igbinidu

Charles Igbinidu is a Public Relations practitioner in Lagos, Nigeria

Check Also

Tinubu Nominates Atiku Bagudu, Olawale Edun Into Presidential Transition Council

Spread the loveThe President-Elect, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, has nominated two persons to the Presidential …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.