Monday , April 22 2019
Home / News / Politics / Again, Senate throw-outs President Buhari’s 46 ambassadorial nominees
Ekweremadu and Saraki

Again, Senate throw-outs President Buhari’s 46 ambassadorial nominees

Spread the love

The Senate has once again asserted its independence by rejecting  the 46 non-career ambassadorial nominees sent to it by President Muhammadu Buhari for approval.

This would be the second time that the upper chamber of the National Assembly will be refusing to honour the request of the President for assent.

It would be recalled that few weeks ago, the Senate threw out President Buhari’s request for permission  take a loan of about $30billion for infrastructural upgrade.

The lawmakers said that the ambassadorial list will be sent back to President Buhari “for resubmission and re-jigging.”


The nominees are Dr. Uzoma Ememke (Abia State), Dr. Clifford Zirra (Adamawa), Maj.-Gen. Godwin Umo (retd.) (Akwa Ibom), Christopher  Okeke (Anambra), Yusuf Tugar (Bauchi), Baba Madugu (Bauchi), Brig.-Gen. Stanley Diriyai (Bayelsa), Dr. Enyantu Ifenne (Benue), Mohammed Hayatuddeen (Borno) and Dr. Etubom Asuquo (Cross River).

Also on the list are Francis Efeduma (Delta), Jonah Odo (Ebonyi), Uyagwe Igbe (Edo), Ayodele Ayodeji (Ekiti), Maj.-Gen. Chris Eze (retd.)(Enugu), Suleiman Hassan (Gombe), Amin Muhammad Dalhatu (Jigawa), Muhammad Yaro (Kaduna), Deborah  Iliya (Kaduna), Prof. D. Abdulkadir (Kano), Haruna Ungogo (Kano), Justice lsa Dodo (Katsina), Dr. Usman Bugaje (Katsina), Prof. Tijjani Bande (Kebbi), Prof Y. O. Aliu (Kogi) and Nuruddeen Mohamed (Kwara).

Others are Prof. Mohamed Yisa (Kwara), Justice George Adesola Oguntade (retd.)(Lagos), Senator Olorunimbe Mamora (Lagos), Modupe Irele (Lagos), Musa Ilu Muhammad (Nasarawa), Mohammad Ibeto (Niger), Ade Asekun (Ogun), Sola Iji (Ondo), Adegboyega Ogunwusi (Osun), Maj.-Gen. Ashimiyu Olaniyi (retd.) (Oyo), Pauline Tallen (Plateau) and Dr. Haruna Bawa Abdullahi (Plateau).

Orji Ngofa (Rivers), Justice Sylvanus Adiewere Nsofor (Rivers), Jamila Ahmadu-Suka (Sokoto), Kabiru Umar (Sokoto), Mustapha Jaji (Taraba), Goni Modu Zanna Bura (Yobe), Garba Gajam (Zamfara) and Cpt. Abdullahi Uba Garbasi (Zamfara) were also nominated.

State governors had protested against their non-involvement in the selection of the non-career ambassadorial nominees by Buhari.

Tallen and Bugaje had rejected their nominations, citing failure to duly consult them.

Imo State and the Federal Capital Territory, which had representatives among the 47 career ambassadorial nominees, did not get any nominees in the non-career batch







About Charles Igbinidu

Charles Igbinidu is a Public Relations practitioner in Lagos, Nigeria

Check Also

Court nullifies Adeleke’s nomination as PDP’s candidate for Osun governorship poll

Spread the loveThe High Court of the Federal Capital Territory in Bwari, Abuja, on Tuesday, …


  1. The Senators are beginning to exercise their power of keeping the executive in check

  2. The APC governors must have a hand in this. They were not happy that the President did not consult them before choosing the nominees

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *