Thursday , February 2 2023

Remaining APC Governors Will Not Defect – Okorocha

Spread the love

Imo State Governor Rochas Okorocha believes the remaining governors on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC) will not leave the party.

Okorocha, who is the Chairman of APC Governors’ Forum, said this on Wednesday after the governors met with President Muhammadu Buhari at the Presidential Villa in Abuja.

He told State House correspondents that despite the exit of three members of the forum which did not come as a surprise to them, the APC remains stronger and more united.


Governor Okorocha noted that the solidarity visit to the President was simply to assure him that the 22 members of the forum were still resolute in their stance with the ruling party.


The governors, who were led to the State House by the APC National Chairman, Adams Oshiomhole, include Abiola Ajimobi (Oyo), Nasir El-Rufai (Kaduna), Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun) and Aminu Masari (Katsina).


Others are Mohammed Abubakar (Jigawa), Akinwunmi Ambode (Lagos), Abdullahi Ganduje (Kano), Yahaya Bello (Kogi), Simon Lalung (Plateau), Tanko Al-Makura (Nasarawa), Kashim Shettima (Borno), and Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi).

Abdul’Aziz Yari of Zamfara, Ondo’s Rotimi Akeredolu, Godwin Obaseki from Edo, and Mohammed Abubakar of Bauchi were, however, absent.

Meanwhile, the Chief of Staff to the President, Mr Abba Kyari, as well as the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Mr Boss Mustapha, were also present at the meeting.

The governors met with the President following the defection of three members of the forum to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Governor Samuel Ortom of Benue State defected on July 25 while the governors of Kwara and Sokoto states, Abdulfatah Ahmed and Aminu Tambuwal, announced their exit from the APC on Tuesday and Wednesday respectively.

About ayo

Check Also

Supporters Injured As Explosion Rocks Rivers APC Rally

Spread the loveSome supporters of All Progressives Congress Party (APC)  in Rivers State sustained injuries …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.