Monday , October 2 2023

Pogba to wear Number Six at Manchester United

Spread the love

Latest signing Paul Pogba will wear the number six shirt at Manchester United, after completing his transfer from Juventus on Tuesday morning reports

Pogba becomes the seventh Red to adopt the recently vacant jersey since squad numbers were introduced in 1993/94, following Gary Pallister, Jaap Stam, Laurent Blanc, Rio Ferdinand, Wes Brown and Jonny Evans.

The Academy graduate wore number 42 in seven first-team appearances during his first spell at United and notably donned the number six shirt throughout his first three seasons at Juventus, before taking on the number 10 shirt after it was vacated by former Reds striker Carlos Tevez.

The rest of United’s squad numbers for the 2016/17 season were released on 21 July, including those to be worn by the club’s three other summer signings – with Eric Bailly taking number three, Zlatan Ibrahimovic inheriting number nine and Henrikh Mkhitaryan adopting number 22.


1: De Gea 3: Bailly 4: Jones 5: Rojo 6: Pogba 7: Memphis 8: Mata 9: Ibrahimovic 10: Rooney 11: Martial 12: Smalling 14: Lingard 15: Januzaj 16: Carrick 17: Blind 18: Young 19: Rashford 20: S. Romero 21: Herrera 22: Mkhitaryan 23: Shaw 24: Fosu-Mensah 25: Valencia 27: Fellaini 28: Schneiderlin 31: Schweinsteiger 32: Johnstone 33: McNair 36: Darmian 38: Tuanzebe 43: Borthwick-Jackson 44: Pereira 48: Keane

*These numbers are provisional

About Charles Igbinidu

Charles Igbinidu is a Public Relations practitioner in Lagos, Nigeria

Check Also

Liverpool issue statement blasting “unacceptable” VAR failures as Reds “explore options”

Spread the loveLiverpool were denied a goal by a VAR decision during their Premier League …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Verified by ExactMetrics