Sunday , April 2 2023
Rotimi Akeredolu

Ondo APC: Akeredolu defeats Tinubu’s candidate, emerges APC candidate

Spread the love

Rotimi Akeredolu has emerged the governorship candidate of the opposition All Progressives Congress (APC) in Ondo State following today’s primary election held amidst tight security in the capital of Akure.

Governor Mohammed Badaru Abubakar of Jigawa State, who is also the chairman primary election committee of the party that monitored the exercise, announced Mr. Akeredolu as the winner of the poll at the international event center moments ago.

He garnered  669 votes , that is 24 % of  the 2, 744 delegates while Tinubu’s anointed aspirant Segun Abraham got 635 votes which is  23 % of 2, 744 while  Ajayi Boroffice, the senator representing Ondo north, garnered 470 votes.


Tunji Abayomi, the human right lawyer, who exchanged letters with Tinubu over the choice of Abraham, polled five votes, and Adefemi Mayowa, another aspirant had 13 votes. Bukola Adetula, also a lawyer, secured 8 votes, while Ademola Adegoroye had just 2.

Prior to the primary election, Bola Tinubu had reported directed members of the Party to cast their votes for Abraham

In addition to the Jigawa governor, other members of the APC Primary Election Committee include: Dr. Bruce Ugbide, Rep. Hamma Ali, Prince M. Martin, and Mr Mohammed Lawal.

Governor Abubakar described the conduct of the APC primary election producing a candidate for the opposition party in the state as transparent and credible.

He, however, asked the unsuccessful aspirants in the election to pacify their supporters to join hands with Mr. Akeredolu in order to win the November 26th governorship election in the state.

He disclosed that the party was prepared to defeat the ruling peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the November 26th governorship election in the Ondo State.

Mr. Kabiru Omosanya, an administrative secretary of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Ondo state, led the electoral team that monitored the primary election.

Also, the combined teams of the security task force which comprises the Army, Police, NSCDC, and DSS monitored the primary election as it went into late Saturday evening.

Twenty-four aspirants jostled for the governorship ticket of the All Progressives Congress (APC) at the primary election held on Saturday.

The aspirants were: Tunji Abayomi,Rotimi Akeredolu, Ademola Adegoroye,Derin Adesida, Akinyinka Akinola,Patrick Akinyelure, Omotayo Alasoadura,Jumoke Anifowoshe-Ajasin,Jamiu Ekungba, Niran Oladunnni,

Others inlcude: Oke Olusola, Olabimtan Victor, Boye Oyewunmi, Ajayi Borrofice, Olusegun Abraham; Tayo Alasoadura;  Bode Ayorinde, Akinwale Akingbade, Akinrinsola Odunayo,Bukola Adetula; Niyi Adegbonmire; Foluso Adefemi, Akinola Olayinka; Tunji Ariyo.

About Charles Igbinidu

Charles Igbinidu is a Public Relations practitioner in Lagos, Nigeria

Check Also

Ramadan: Kano residents face arrest for ‘eating in public’

Spread the loveIslamic police in Kano State have warned Muslims against violating religious norms during …


  1. Congratulations,my friend.Shook hands with you way back @Okeluse in Ose LGA, as a serving corper.That’s 2010,I think you’re a PDP member then.

  2. Tinubu’s candidate indeed. Nor go campaign, dey wait for endorsement. Mugu !!

  3. Tinubu will soon defeat him.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.