Tuesday , May 24 2022
Home / Sport / Football / Liverpool star Mohamed Salah crowned Fans’ Footballer of the Year for the second time
Mo Salah celebrates his early spot-kick (Image: Getty Images)

Liverpool star Mohamed Salah crowned Fans’ Footballer of the Year for the second time

Spread the love

Mohamed Salah has beaten Phil Foden, Declan Rice, Bruno Fernandes and Kevin de Bruyne to the Fans’ Footballer of the Year Award for 2021 — a year on from winning the inaugural version of the prize.

The Egyptian forward came top of the voting having been nominated by journalists across the Reach network, with fans then having their say in their thousands from the shortlisted players.

After around 140,000 votes had been cast, Salah, who has already scored 22 times for Liverpool this season, was the clear and deserving winner of the prize after a stellar campaign on an individual level.

The top-10 in the standings was as follows:

  1. Mohamed Salah
  2. Declan Rice
  3. Bruno Fernandes
  4. Phil Foden
  5. Edouard Mendy
  6. Mason Mount
  7. Rúben Dias
  8. Kevin de Bruyne
  9. Jorginho
  10. João Cancelo

As a result of winning the national prize, Salah has also claimed Liverpool’s Fans’ Footballer of the Year.

Despite only being eligible for this award in September, Cristiano Ronaldo came home in 14th-place. He finished one spot above Manchester United teammate Marcus Rashford, while Leicester’s Youri Tielemans completed the final 20.


About Charles Igbinidu

Charles Igbinidu is a Public Relations practitioner in Lagos, Nigeria

Check Also

Manchester United Rehire Sir Alex Ferguson’s Right Hand Man As Erik Ten Hag Assistant

Spread the love United have rehired Steve McClaren more than two decades after he left …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.