Sunday , November 27 2022

IGP Adamu due for retirement tomorrow. Can Buhari Extend his tenure?

Spread the love

With the tenure of the current Inspector-General of Police (IGP) Mohammed A. Adamu statutorily expected to terminate on Monday, February 1, 2021 the Presidency is still tight-lipped on his successor resulting in disquiet in the top hierarchy of the Police Force.

The hands of the President however seem to be tied by the Police Act 2020.

Section 18 (8) of the Police Act, 2020 states that “Every Police officer shall, on recruitment or appointment, serve in the Nigeria Police Force for a period of 35 years or until he attains the age of 60 years, whichever is earlier”.

The incumbent IGP is  a member of the ASP Cadet Course 14 which clocks 35 years in service on Monday, having joined the Police Force on February 1, 1986.

About 24 hours to the statutory retirement of the IGP, President Buhari is yet to announce a successor leading to speculations that the President may against the principles of the law extend his tenure.

It would be recalled that the recently retired armed forces service chiefs had their tenures elongated by the President.

Section 7 (6) of the Police Act, 2020 states that: “The person appointed to the office of the Inspector-General of Police shall hold office for four years”.

Mohammed A. Adamu was appointed as IGP by President Muhammadu Buhari on 15 January 2019 replacing Ibrahim Kpotun Idris (rtd) of Niger State.

Is this Section 7 (6) of the Police Act, 2020 a valid ground for his continued stay in office as IGP?

According to a Lagos based lawyer, Mr. Christian Akpotohwo, Section 7 (6) of the Police Act, 2020 cannot be a ground for IGP Adamu to remain in office since he has already clocked 35 years in service.

According to him, it will be illegal to continue to remain in office beyond February 1, 2021.

Also responding to questions from, another lawyer, First Baba Isa stated that a law cannot be applied retroactively and that the Police Act 2020 cannot apply to the current Inspector-General since he was appointed prior to the enactment of the law.

He is therefore of the view that since Section 7 (6) of the Police Act, 2020 does not apply to him, he  can therefore not continue in office beyond February 1, 2021

Likely successors

Section 7 subsection 2 of the Police Act clearly stipulates who can be appointed to the office of IGP: “The person to be appointed as Inspector General of Police shall be a Senior Police Officer not below the rank of Assistant Inspector General of Police with the requisite academic qualification of not less than a first degree or its equivalent in addition to professional or management experience.”

First Baba Isa is also of the view that the President has to read Section 7 (6) and Section 18 (8) of the Act together in choosing the next IGP. This implies that the person must have more than four years to serve before retirement.

The only person that meets this requirement is AIG Moses Ambakina Jitoboh  who is due for retirement on the 10th of June 2029.

     The current DIGs are:                  Due Retirement Date                  Service Duration Left

  1. Aminchi Samaila Baraya         01/02/2021                                               4 days
  2. Sanusi Nma Lemu                    31/01/2023                                                 less than 3 years.
  3. Usman Alkali Baba                   01/03/2023                                               less than 3 years
  4. Nkpa N. Inakwu                        01/02/2021                                                4 days
  5. Ibrahim Lamorde                     01/02/2021                                               4 days
  6. David Oyebanji Folawiyo        21/11/2021                                                 10 months
  7. Joseph O. Egbunike                 04/06/2022                                               16 months
  8. Dan-Mallam Mohammed        18/12/2023                                               less than 3 years



  1. Tijani Baba                                 06/10/2021                                                8 months
  2. Mohammad Mustafa                01/02/2021                                               4 days
  3. Zanna Mohammed Ibrahim    26/11/2022                                               less than 2 years
  4. Moses Ambakina Jitoboh        10/06/ 2029                                            more than 8 years
  5. Jonah Jackson Mava               01/02/2021                                                4 days
  6. Olusholla Babajide David       01/02/2021                                               4 days
  7. Ahmed Iliyasu                           27/05/2021                                               4 months
  8. Zaki M. Ahmed                         15/02/2022                                                1 year two weeks
  9. Gwandu Haliru Abubakar      01/02/2022                                                1 year 4 days
  10. Zama Bala Senchi                     05/10/2022                                                1 year 8 months
  11. Bello A. Sadiq                             20/10/2022                                               1 year 8 months
  12. Austin Iwero Agbonlahor         30/08/2021                                               6 months 4 days
  13. Lawan Ado                                   27/03/2021                                                2 months
  14. Dandaura Mustapha                  15/01/2023                                                 less than 3 years
  15. Asuquo A.A. Amba                      01/02/2021                                                4 days
  16. Nkereuwem A. Akpan                 01/02/2021                                                4 days
  17. Olafimihan Adenira Adeoye       01/02/2021                                                4 days
  18. Agunbaide O. Lasore                    01/02/2021                                                 4 days
  19. Undie J. Adie                                 01/02/2021                                                  4 days
  20. Olugbenga Adeyanju                    01/02/2021                                                   4 days
  21. Johnson Babatunde Kokumo      15/03/2023                                                 less than 3 years
  22. Ajani Olasupo Babatunde            15/06/2021                                                 5 months
  23. Awunah N. Donald                        15/03/2023                                                 less than 3 years
  24. Hafiz Mohammed Inuwa              21/03/2024                                                3 years 2 months
  25. Garba Baba Umar                           15/05/2023                                                 less than 3 years
  26. Isaac Olutayo Akinmoyede            15/03/2023                                                 less than 3 years

About Charles Igbinidu

Charles Igbinidu is a Public Relations practitioner in Lagos, Nigeria

Check Also

DSS Withdraws Application Against Alleged Terrorists’ Negotiator, Mamu

Spread the loveThe Department of State Services (DSS) has withdrawn a suit before a Federal …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.