Tuesday , March 21 2023

Crises rocks APC as Giadom unseats Ajimobi, annul Obaseki’s disqualification

Spread the love

The crises rocking the All progressives Congress (APC) is deepening by the minutes as Victor Giadom has declared himself the acting national chairman of the party.

Addressing newsmen at the national secretariat of the party in Abuja, he declared that the appointment of the Senator Abiola Ajimobi as acting national chairman of the party cannot stand on the basis that it is illegal and unconstitutional.

The Rivers State-born APC chieftain referred to a subsisting court order issued on the 16 of March 2020 by Justice S.U Bature in suit no FCT /HC/M/6447/2020 as the basis for his ascension to the office of the Acting Chairman of the APC.

He argued “That order could not be immediately effected at that time because of the temporary reprieve Adams Oshiomhole got from the court of appeal on the same day.

“However, having removed the temporary reprieve yesterday (Tuesday) by the court of appeal and considering the fact that we cannot allow for a vacuum, I most humbly inform you that I have assumed office as Acting national chairman of our great party in compliance with the order of the court.”

Giadom, flanked by the deputy national organising secretary, Muhammed Sani Ibrahim, further declared the disqualification of Governor Godwin Obaseki from contesting in the Edo state governorship primaries as null and void.

He thereby directed governorship aspirants of the party in Edo state to report to the national secretariat of the party in Abuja between today and tomorrow to come for a fresh screening exercise in line with the party constitution.

Giadom, who claimed the decision was in tandem with the wishes of the members of the APC national working committee (NWC), declared that Emmanuel Ibediro ceases to be the national organising secretary of the party in line with an Abuja court order FHC/ABJ/CS/733//2018.

About Charles Igbinidu

Charles Igbinidu is a Public Relations practitioner in Lagos, Nigeria

Check Also

Newly Elected Governors: Uba Sanni of APC wins in Kaduna

Spread the love     APC wins Kaduna governorship election The Independent National Electoral Commission …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.