Tuesday , October 3 2023
max verstppenand and lewis hamilton

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix: Max Verstappen beats Lewis Hamilton to stunning pole for Formula 1 title decider

Spread the love

Advantage Max Verstappen for Sunday’s title showdown as he beats Lewis Hamilton to pole by 0.3s at Yas Marina; Verstappen’s fastest lap utilised the tow from team-mate Sergio Perez; Lando Norris third for McLaren; Verstappen and Hamilton on front row for the winner-take-all race on Sunday

Max Verstappen will start on pole ahead of Lewis Hamilton for the winner-takes-all Abu Dhabi GP title decider after a masterful and unexpected performance in qualifying from the Dutchman and Red Bull.

Trailing Hamilton and Mercedes coming into qualifying and for much of the hour-long shootout, Verstappen was very much the outsider heading into the critical Q3 finale but he and Red Bull then combined raw pace with clever teamwork to outpace Hamilton in second by a whopping 0.371s.

Verstappen’s fastest lap, a 1:22.109, was posted at the start of Q3 when utilising the ‘tow’ from team-mate Sergio Perez, as the Mexican sacrificed his own lap to give the championship contender a slipstream and straight-line speed advantage.



Abu Dhabi GP Qualifying Result – Top 10
1) Max Verstappen, Red Bull
2) Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
3) Lando Norris, McLaren
4) Sergio Perez, Red Bull
5) Carlos Sainz, Ferrari
6) Valtteri Bottas, Mercedes
7) Charles Leclerc, Ferrari
8) Yuki Tsunoda, AlphaTauri
9) Esteban Ocon, Alpine
10) Daniel Ricciardo, McLaren

About Charles Igbinidu

Charles Igbinidu is a Public Relations practitioner in Lagos, Nigeria

Check Also

Tyson Fury and Oleksandr Usyk sign contracts for undisputed world heavyweight title fight

Spread the loveTyson Fury and Oleksandr Usyk have signed contracts for an undisputed world heavyweight …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Verified by ExactMetrics